Eurovision 2019 – Duncan Laurence from The Netherlands wins

Eurovision 2019 - Duncan Laurence from The Netherlands wins

Duncan Laurence from the Netherlands has won the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest with 492 points. He gained the winning title with his song named ‘Arcade’.

This was the 64th edition of the song contest. Multiple countries from all over the World send their candidates to Eurovision music contest and the best one wins. Duncan’s song Arcade was written by the songwriters Joel Sjöö, Wouter Hardy and by Duncan himself.

The Netherlands has won this contest for the fifth time. Previously, it had won in the years 1957, 1959, 1969 and 1975. Interestingly, this has been North Macedonia’s first top ten finish since joining the competition 21 years ago. North Macedonia participated for the first time under its new name instead of the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. Forty-two countries participated in the contest, however, Ukraine withdrew its contestant lessening the number to forty-one.

Mahmood from Italy was announced as the runner up with 465 points and Sergey Lazarev from Russia was announced as the second runner up with 369 points. Switzerland and Norway bagged fourth place with 360 points and fifth place with 338 points respectively. Other countries in the top ten were Sweden, Azerbaijan, North Macedonia, Australia, and Iceland.

An official compilation album titled “Tel Aviv 2019” was released under the “Universal Music Group” label digitally on 12 April 2019 and physically on 26 April 2019. The album featured the contestants of all participating countries.

Madonna also delivered her highly controversial performance before the voting results were announced. She ended her performance visually displaying Israel-Palestine unity and peace.

I am soon to be a Computer Engineer from Sir Syed University, Karachi. I have a deep interest in Global Entertainment, Pakistani and Sports News. I have a keen sense and knowledge about writing news and research work. Hoping to be a better influence on the planet earth.